Simpsons

Alright, I know we didn’t get a chance to watch The Simpsons, but I have to write about it anyway. It was MY 90’s experience, it’s what I grew up on, hell, it’s what I still watch to this day.

Simpsons started in 1989 and had shorts featured on the Tracy Ulman show. The shorts and very early episodes were…not good. The animation was crude, Homer sounded like a bad Walter Matthau, and they focused attention on Bart and being a family show (you know, morals and shit).

Thank God they changed that format going into the third season and beyond. The show became even more popular, incredibly hilarious, and themes still relevant today. I’ll never forget when Sideshow Bob explained why he rigged the election to become mayor;

”¬†Because you need me, Springfield. Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king. That’s why I did this, to save you from yourselves! Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a city to run.”

That spoke to me then as it does now! I don’t agree with that outlandish/hilarious statement but it made me really consider politics from both angles.

There are tons of other lessons, both heartwarming and crude that I was taught, but Simpsons really defined comedy for me. Subtle store messages, stock photos, and other things shaped how I look at the world, no joke. If I meet someone or some girl, even if she’s hot, if they don’t like early Simpsons, we can’t be friends/date. Not kidding. I don’t care if she was my perfect match, if we can’t sing the Monorail song, we won’t truly be happy.

Also, this intro. No joke, when I saw this the first time, I threw up in my mouth from laughing so hard.

About sabonis1986

When not fighting crime due to getting distracted by a Simpsons "quote war", I like to read, play video games, pretend to workout, and wait around for my acceptance letter to Hogwarts (or Durmstrang, I'm not picky.)

Posted on November 17, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

